Week One Done

So – we’ve completed the first week of our Paleo Attempt.

We managed to empty our pantry of ‘non-paleo’ foods (read: all my favourites) and purchase MOST of what we need for a Paleo diet, the “staples”, although being in the Pilbara means there is a few items we’ll need to order online or just go without. Like kelp pasta. It sounds terrible but if its the only pasta I can have…
So far – its been OK. Turns out the dinners and lunches are pretty easy to think of – meat and vegetables, or meat and salad.  Its when you want something different that you need to branch out, oh and when you want breakfast. What breakfast can you have without grains (bye-bye bread, bye-bye cereal!) or carbs? Not that I usually have rice for breakfast but still.  A lot of eggs have been consumed this week by my husband, lucky for me I don’t eat breakfast so its not been a challenge – until the weekend, when I usually will eat brekky.

Solved the problem with scrambled eggs w/chorizo yesterday and today, tapioca crepes with bacon.  The eggs were yummy and something I would have eaten pre-paleo; the tapioca crepes were… different. Pretty nice, and surprisingly filling but definitely different.

We realised while making breakfast that we’ll need to completely re-learn how to cook things because the ingredients we are now using behave differently (like tapioca).

So – weight wise I’ve gone from 61.1kg > 59.5kg; I’ve found myself consuming more fruit / vegetables this week than I have in the past month (which can only be a good thing) and feeling better throughout the day, as in I’m not coming home from working feeling so bloated any more.  Maybe its a co-incidence, but we’ll see I guess!

Week 2 my challenge is to cut sugar out of my coffee (its the only time I add sugar to anything) and see what Paleo options McDonalds offers. Truly! I really don’t want to say goodbye to Macca’s!

Nicest v-day meal ever! Roast pork with chilli broccoli & mushrooms. Yummo!

Nicest v-day meal ever! Roast pork with chilli broccoli & mushrooms. Yummo!

Lunch made of dinner left overs - simple: BBQ Roast Chicken and a salad. Miss the cheese but we're finding ways to make up for it :)

Lunch made of dinner left overs – simple: BBQ Roast Chicken and a salad. Miss the cheese but we’re finding ways to make up for it 🙂

Some of the non-paleo items we've removed from our pantry... we probably took out 75% of our food! No exaggeration!

Some of the non-paleo items we’ve removed from our pantry… we probably took out 75% of our food! No exaggeration!

I’ll also try to put up some before and after pics of our pantry 🙂

Leave a Reply

